Rugby union overload heading for Queensland

QUEENSLAND is in for a rugby union overload with eight matches of The Rugby Championship to be played in the Sunshine State following major COVID-19-related fixture changes.

Eight of the remaining Rugby Championship matches will be played in Queensland according to non-negotiable COVID-safe condition. PHOTO: Twitter / @superrugby

The annual rugby union showpiece features Australia, New Zealand, Argentina and current world champions South Africa.

NOW READ: FCAC rugby sevens festival goes digital

SANZAAR confirmed the changes today in response to the impact of the pandemic and tightening of travel and quarantine regulations by various state and national governments due to outbreaks of the virus in Australia and New Zealand.

Eight matches will be played in Queensland after the SANZAAR and national unions agreed to travel, accommodation and quarantine arrangements regulated by the Queensland Government.

The outstanding second-round match between the Wallabies and All Blacks that was due to be played in Perth on Saturday 28 August will still be played in the city but at a later date, still to be announced.

ALSO READ: Rugby Australia looks back to go forward

Organisers are now looking to deliver a month of double headers in Brisbane, Townsville and on the Gold Coast.

The matches will be played under non-negotiable COVID-safe conditions for the safety of players and spectators.

ALSO READ: All Black legend performs with The Wiggles

The costs of relocating and quarantine for the remainder of the 2021 Rugby Championship will be at the expense of SANZAAR.

2021 Rugby Championship Match Schedule *

Round 1
Sat 14 August: New Zealand 57 v Australia 22 [Eden Park, Auckland] 
Sat 14 August: South Africa 32 v Argentina 12 [Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth]

Round 2
Sat 21 August: Argentina 29 v South Africa 10 [Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth]
TBC: Australia v New Zealand: Optus Stadium, Perth**

Round 3
Sunday 12 September: New Zealand v Argentina: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast 
Sunday 12 September:  South Africa v Australia: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast 
Round 4
Saturday 18 September: Argentina v New Zealand: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane 
Saturday 18 September:  Australia v South Africa: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane 
Round 5
Sat 25 September: New Zealand v South Africa: QLD Country Bank Stadium, Townsville 
Sat 25 September: Australia v Argentina: QLD Country Bank Stadium, Townsville 

Round 6
Sat 2 October: South Africa v New Zealand: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast
Sat 2 October: Argentina v Australia: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast

* All kick-off times and match order to be confirmed
** Third Bledisloe Cup match – Date to be confirmed

Find it Fraser Coast

Hashtags: #goodnewsfrasercoast | #frasercoastnews | #frasercoast #frasercoastbusinessdirectory
Keywords: Good News Fraser Coast | Fraser Coast News | Hervey Bay news | Maryborough news | Fraser Coast Business Directory

Leave a Reply