Fraser Coast youth represented on advisory council

THE Fraser Coast’s youth have been given a voice to help communicate their aspirations and concerns directly with Council.

The New Fraser Coast Youth Advisory Council was inducted in at the Maryborough City Hall this week. PHOTO: Supplied.

The newest Fraser Coast Youth Advisory Council was inducted in a ceremony at the Maryborough City Hall on Thursday.

NOW READ: Govt urged to extend online safety to include all teens

Fraser Coast Mayor George Seymour said the council has two important functions – help train the leaders of tomorrow and give Council and insight into the views and aspirations of the youth.

“We want to hear their views and opinions about the community they live in and ensure the region is the place they want to live, work and play,” Cr Seymour said.

RISING STAR: Hervey Bay entrepreneur helping local businesses grow

“The world is changing and the way our children go about their daily lives will be different to the way we grew up, so we have to make sure that our cities cater for those changes.

“The way we connect and where we want to connect is changing and the way people move about is changing, just look at the popularity of electric bikes and scooters.

ALSO READ: Fraser Coast school graduate eager to get back in the classroom

“Our youths will be at the forefront of those changes, so we need to engage and listen to what they see as important to ensure our parks, playgrounds and community facilities cater for those changes.”

The Fraser Coast Youth Advisory Council members are between 12 and 24 years of age and are appointed for a one-year term.

Monthly meetings alternate between Maryborough and Hervey Bay.

Find it Fraser Coast

Council called for applications earlier this year and selected the members to provide a balanced representation of the diverse interests and geographic areas of the region.

Members of the Fraser Coast Youth Advisory Council:

  • Jessica Mullen
  • Kirra Flynn
  • Sara Diana Faraj
  • Luke Strochnetter
  • Charlie Anderson
  • Lucien Robertson
  • Nathan Mills
  • Chloe Lourigan
  • Ashanti Schiemer
  • Chloe Lhotka
  • Samuel Raveneau
  • Summer Knight
  • Kurtis Hare
  • Isabelle Conroy-de Voss and
  • Andries Du Plooy

Leave a Reply